jump to navigation

Hopefully The Next Family To Enter The White House June 4, 2008

Posted by Ashley in politics.
Tags: , ,
trackback

I’m speechless as I’m writing this. History has been made. A person whose skin is naturally tan has may have a chance of bringing color to the white house. Barack Obama is the Democratic Presidential Nominee!!!! This is, if you haven’t seen in any newspaper headline, History in the making. As an African-American woman, I have goosebumps. I never thought this day would come. Having both Hillary Clinton and Barack Obama running for President was enough for me. Having the possibility that a woman or a black person could possibly be the next President was mind blowing. As an Obama supporter, I’m estatic. Again, I never thought this day would come and Obama’s win shows how far America has come and its possible future.  Of course, In the beginning I had my doubts, racism is still alive and well, there are alot of racists who do not want any person whose skin shows the slightest brown to be President.  

But for Obama to have so many supporters, win several primaries and super delegates shows that America is ready for change (I know, I Know…that’s apart of his campaign, but its true). We don’t want another Hurricane Katrina, We want our Troops Home, We want better health care, We Know that change will make that happen, Obama will make that happen.

As a role model to young African-American men, he’s showing them that they can achieve any and every goal and he’s achieved a big one, being the first African-American to ever clinch the Democratic nomination. This is something I want my younger male cousins to soak in and be an inspire them. He’s up there with Denzel Washington, Forest Whitaker, Michael Jordan and Tiger Woods, breaking barriers and not letting the color of your skin hold you back from your dreams. It’s makes me even more proud to be an African-American woman.

Congratulations to Senator Barack Obama and Good luck to him, his wife, Michelle Obama and their two daughters Sasha and Malia. If all goes well, You’ll be moving into the White House in November and I expect an invite to your first “White House Cookout” LOL

Comments»

1. dr david - June 7, 2008

Go Obama!!! I sure hope he can bring the serious change this country needs! He is the only one that can possibly bring that. I’m so glad he’s the nominee.

2. browngirlgumbo - June 9, 2008

I am sooooo proud and elated that he WILL be the first African-American in the White House!!! I can only imagine being those little girls running around the “White House!” OMG!!

3. ananda - June 12, 2008

AMEN.

4. Whitney - June 12, 2008

I’m throwing my support behind Obama too, of course! He’s exactly what this country needs, even if they don’t know it yet 🙂 I’m loving the blog btw honey, you have some great taste in music. Are you into Keyshia Cole? She performed at the Toyota event last night in NYC – I work for them so I’m excited about spreading awareness of If Looks Could Kill, which I think you might be into… they are these thrilling new webisodes that follow an aspiring fashion designer, Bianca, who’s involved in international espionage by night. If you’re familiar with the BMW shorts from a couple of years ago (Guy Ritchie, Madonna), these webisodes definitely have a similar production level.

Link: http://www.iflookscouldkill.com

Interactive: Toyota has gone one step further, the viewer can interact with Bianca to help her unravel the mystery that has suddenly become her life. I really enjoy the multiple levels; it adds a dimension of reality to the story and builds a unique relationship between the main character and viewer.

Launch party: We just had our official launch party on 6/11 in NYC— with a special performance by Keyshia Cole like I previously mentioned, plus appearances made by Alexis Phifer, Rosci, Avant, Eric Benet, and Mashonda!

I’d really love your take on the first episode—Haute Pursuit—and discuss more as the other episodes roll-out. Myself, I’m still trying to figure out who the bad guy is—the ex, the boyfriend, the boss? Or maybe it’s Nana? lol

Again, would love your take because bloggers like yourself definitely have a good eye about what’s cool, hot and current. I would have contacted you via email but I didn’t know which the best way to reach you was. I hope I didn’t overstep my bounds by directly contacting you.

Don’t be shy girl!

Best,
Whitney Maiers
ILCK Ambassador
maiers.whitney@gmail.com


Leave a Reply

